how we sisters cook: carbonara edition

I’ve always loved cooking, can’t say I’m good but I try.

BACK STORY: I come from a Filipino-Hispanic family whose recipes have been passed around extended families and through generations. It’s nothing complicated, just simple, hearty meals we gather around the table for. My papa’s famous for his beef steak and bihon (a noodle dish with lots of veggies and liver). I grew up around the kitchen, watching them cook. That’s how I started to love cooking.

webcam-toy-photo27

This afternoon, after Ate left early, I decided to teach my little sister, Kayle, to cook her favorite pasta, the carbonara. It was easy. We prepped all the ingredients first. Started boiling the pasta then sauteing the sauce. We opted to cook our shared favorite, mushroom sauce with chicken stalk. After 30 minutes, we were ready to serve (ourselves! ha-ha-ha)

webcam-toy-photo50

Left over pasta for mom and dad

webcam-toy-photo28  webcam-toy-photo32

And here we are, finally enjoying the fruit of our hard work. YUM!

Leave a Reply

