when you’re not the exception

*Hi! So I was cleaning up my Facebook account when I read some of my old notes from way back when I could still squeal about romance and stuff, and thought it would be fun to post it here. It’s just to remind me that I once was or maybe still is (deep down- I mean really really deep, way down there) a hopeless romantic. 

** You might wanna check Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo’s He’s Just Not That Into You. This old note of mine reminds me of that book.

Is it enough to save the friendship and give up any chance to pursue my own happiness?

tumblr_lfbf9jBL5H1qbv4sdo1_500-776404

I walked alone that night thinking I had to think things through. From afar I could hear your faint calls to ask me to stop so you could keep up. I pretended not to notice, the same way I pretended not to notice the way I felt all these years. When you finally caught up with me, I felt my heart change its usual rhythm, the way it always does when you’re around.

You didn’t have to say anything, I already knew.

You found your exception.

That exception that you always said would make you a better man, a happy man.

She’s your exception

and I’ll be the girl who is be happy for you from afar.

Leave a Reply

