wisdom of the old?

I always make the strangest realizations when walking around like what happened a few days ago. I was walking home from a restaurant my family and I frequent when I noticed a crowd of people gathered around the plaza. To respond to my growing curiosity, I decided to inch myself into the restless, weirdly loud crowd. In the middle are 3 60-something men who were aggressively talking about social issues like the culture of Philippine elections, prices and governance. It was amusing at first because discourse, in my opinion, is a prerequisite to any functional social institution but I was a little irritated when the blame game started.

Random Lolo 1: Ang mga kaakian talaga ngunyan. (continues to rant)

Random Lolo 2: Mayo na kayang pagtubod sa Diyos. Hilinga na ta gabos na sanang kararatan ginigibo.

Roughly translating to:

Random Lolo 1: Kids these days (continues to rant)

Random Lolo 2: Their lack of faith and fear in the Lord causes this. Look at them and all the faults they’ve committed.

Ironic right?

This people who criticize our generation seem to forget who raised it

Leave a Reply

