Image

my take on spicy pork

For those new to my blog, I’d have to confess how big a foodie I am. I enjoy food, from all parts of the world, and I’m willing to try even the strangest, spiciest and most unorthodox food there is. It comes from a long fascination for the art of cooking which I developed from years of living with my grandparent’s rustic, very homey dishes. Waking up to the smell of fried rice, one of my grandfather’s specialty, is always a welcome start to my day.

To my older subscribers, this doesn’t come as a surprise anymore. I’ve been posting tidbits of my humble attempts in the kitchen hoping other lost souls out there would take inspiration from my chutzpah. I’m nowhere near amazing but I thought chronicling my small victories would help me see how much I’ve improved and would either push you to the kitchen to try or have something good to laugh about.

Okay, so a few days ago I cooked SPICY PORK.

spicy pork

It’s a family favorite, something we usually order in Chinese restaurants- abundant in our side of the city. There’s not much to it. I used pork loin, no fat. The upside is it’s a healthier option but it also dries out quickly so I’m always extra careful not to overcook it . Then I added dried herbs and powdered spices to the flour I was gonna use to coat the chunks of pork. On a small wok, I sauteed  garlic, shallots, ginger and spring onion in sesame oil, dropped the pre-fried meat then added around 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce, same amount of hoisin sauce and about 3 to 4 chopped chili picante. Just added salt and pepper to taste.

It’s always fulfilling putting something you’re proud of on a plate but it’s 10 times better that after a long prep, I can finally eat. YUM!

This is the finished dish, my take on Spicy Pork.

spicy pork- finished


Leave a Reply

