the fault in (most) our lives

Last night I contemplated rereading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green after rushing through every page the first time I read it. I will not tell you how many times I’ve read that book for that will divulge how much more free time I truly have in my hands which in friend talk means they can drag me out to party or do ‘COOL’ stuff- whatever that means. *wink*

Needless to say, my yearning for more Augustus Waters won over my body’s cries for sleep so I found my nook and started focusing on the words in front of me. After breezing through some chapters, I caught myself pausing at every highlighted text. It wasn’t as if I haven’t read them before because I have, a few times- okay, a dozen of times- but I can’t help myself. The highlights seem to DEMAND attention, the same way pain needs to be felt and emotions expressed. So I allowed myself to linger on those words.

That made me ask, when was the last time I fully took in an accomplishment? When was the last time I relished achieving a goal after a long battle getting there? Right, ages ago. I’m always in a hurry, rushing through one thing I could tick off my checklist to another that I couldn’t even be bothered for five seconds to say hey that was probably the highlight of my week. I did good.

I don’t want being busy or running around to be my  life although I guess I’m pretty good at that- a lot of us are. That shouldn’t define us. It could describe our schedule but not define who we are. Sometimes we don’t have to do so much to be fulfilled. We only have to pay close attention and notice how much we’ve already done then give ourselves the occasional pat in the back. God knows we busy bodies deserve it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

