song pick of the week: ALL OF THE STARS by Ed Sheeran

Because I most recently have been exploring my love for music I thought it would be fun to post a song pick every week– most likely the one I’ve been listening to the most. It’d cover any genre but since I listen to a lot of alternative and acoustic music, you’d probably see me post a lot of those and btw, I also follow a lot of Youtubers who maintain music channels and have really good covers so I might share some of those too.

This particular one, All of the Stars by Ed Sheeran, was posted just about a week ago and it has been on repeat since. I think I’ve pissed off my neighbors for playing it a tad too loudly and all the friggin time. That should tell you how much I love it but then again, I AM CRAZY ABOUT ED. Have been since I first heard A Team and has grown exponentially when he sang the ost for one of my favorite books of all time, The Hobbit.

And he’s done it again.

This song is the ost for The Fault in Our Stars, a much anticipated movie starring Ansel Elgort and Shailene Woodley which is based on John Green’s bestseller of the same name. I think this song is written perfectly for the movie. I could not fault it one bit.

I hope you love it as much as I do.

All Of The Stars Lyrics

by Ed Sheeran

It’s just another night
And I’m staring at the moon
I saw a shooting star
And thought of you
I sang a lullaby
By the waterside and knew
If you were here,
I’d sing to you
You’re on the other side
As the skyline splits in two
I’m miles away from seeing you
I can see the stars
From America
I wonder, do you see them, too?

So open your eyes and see
The way our horizons meet
And all of the lights will lead
Into the night with me
And I know these scars will bleed
But both of our hearts believe
All of these stars will guide us home

I can hear your heart
On the radio beat
They’re playing ‘Chasing Cars’
And I thought of us
Back to the time,
You were lying next to me
I looked across and fell in love
So I took your hand
Back through lamp lit streets I knew
Everything led back to you
So can you see the stars?
Over Amsterdam
You’re the song my heart is
Beating to

So open your eyes and see
The way our horizons meet
And all of the lights will lead
Into the night with me
And I know these scars will bleed
But both of our hearts believe
All of these stars will guide us home

And, oh, I know
And oh, I know, oh
I can see the stars
From America

okay

25 thoughts on “song pick of the week: ALL OF THE STARS by Ed Sheeran

    • passporttorainbows says:

      Me too. I actually stayed on while the credits were rolling after I watched Desolation. Is that weird? lol. Maybe you should listen to his cover of Royals. It’s really good. 🙂

      • Dam this boy is talented. He has such a great voice. hahahahaha, there is no way I would divulge my unruly behavior in a cinema. Let’s just say I am too enthusiastic.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        Would you feel better if I told you I got effed off by a 5 year old for screaming when Thor took his shirt off? lmao *shrinks and hides under a rock* And yes, he is so talented. Can’t wait for the rest of his album.

      • Okay you win. I have screamed at many an epic scene but I once fell out of my seat when the 18 Wheeler flipped forward in The Dark Knight. My friends don’t like watching movies with me. I get too involved.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        See? That wasn’t so bad- super funny though. Made my morning! lmao. You know my friends keep saying the same thing except they keep taking me cos I’m the only one with the decency to pay for food.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        lmao. Yeah, it’s hard when your the ‘weird’ one in the group. I feel like I always am but my friends, i guess, like that. They’re messy, laid back dudes so what do they care right? 🙂

        And thanks, you seem like a cool friend too. I won’t feel so bad about being too ‘invested’. lol

      • I also keep a small group of people who understand me. They just stare at me when I go into my “phases”. I’m glad to have you invested. I think people like us are fascinating.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        Well, I think so too. Would you mind telling the rest of the world that? LOL. So do you have and music recommendations? or books? I like asking people that. 🙂

      • Lol, you brighten up my day with that sunny disposition. Books, nope. Movies and music always. Right now all I am looking forward to is the new Coldplay album Ghost Stories. Depends on your taste though, mine is varied.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        Yeah, I’ve a heard a few songs. So far I liked A Sky Full of Stars. Haven’t bought the album though. You think I should? I just got Foster the People album though.

        And my sunny disposition thanks you for noticing. lmao.

      • I am a big Coldplay fan so yes, get it. How is the Foster the People album? I enjoyed the last one, they have a quirky sound.
        Any recommendations for me?

      • passporttorainbows says:

        I’ve been into Simple Plan, Maroon 5 and One Republic for the longest time but recently I guess Imagine Dragons and Ed are my most played.

        I like the FTP album it but I must admit I prefer the first one more. I’d rather recommend American Authors’ new one.

        And yes I’ll have a copy of the Coldplay album by the end of next week. Sometimes my friends can be thoughtful. LOL 🙂 *Wow this was way longer than expected. Sorry about that.*

      • Never apologize for making my day. I enjoy our exchanges immensely. Trust me to find someone I share tastes with from another country. Imagine being a black guy in South Africa who loves One Republic and Kings of Leon, talk about rough. I will look for the American Authors music and let you know what I think.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        Can I just say I am so jealous right now? I’ve always wanted to live in South Africa, well any African country for that matter but SA especially. 🙂 Wait, isn’t One Republic popular there though?

        And I really hope you like American Authors. *fingers crossed*

      • It is, not really with black people though. People around here still think music has color. I am musician so I have no time for that crap thinking. SA is such a beautiful country, without a doubt worth visiting.
        I am sure you have great taste in music, you will know in the next 24 hours.
        Why do you wish you lived here? Where do you call home?

      • passporttorainbows says:

        You’re a musician? Now I feel extremely self conscious. Most my friends are (the guys at least) but I’m not as gifted. I like listening to them though. What music do you play?

        Well, I am from the Philippines although I do travel around a lot. 🙂 I’m really bad at settling in one place for some reason. I grew studying African history and culture- weird kid, I know. In college I got more engrossed with actually traveling there because most of the debate motions we get are of African policies. I’m just obsessed with it I guess. Least pretentious continent if you ask me. 🙂

        So what do people of your color (I hope that’s not offensive) expect you to listen to then?

      • Yeah I am a hip hop artist. Been doing it for as long as I can remember. It’s been an up hill battle but it’s my passion and I love it. Well around here it depends on the circle of people but but some black people like hip hop (local and international) and a large number likes House music, it’s really big here.

        Then there other more African genres that people like. But rock, pop and alternative are considered more of a ‘white’ people kind of music. I love listening to a lot of different things cause it inspires me to be diverse. What made you study African culture? and what exactly do you do?

        And yes I am on twitter: @gc_celebrity I will be expecting a follow soon.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        Hip hop is probably the genre I need to explore more the most. I know very few people who appreciate it- the good ones at least. I’d love to hear yours though. 🙂 Goodness, I really hate stereotypes. It’s music. It shouldn’t matter which race or color listens to it more.

        Well, I’m a history buff and African history is probably one of the most interesting if not the most interesting one I’ve read. I have my book aficionado father to thank for that plus the fact that I was in the debate team in college. Besides, I do a lot humanitarian work and volunteering. Most of my friends who do the same dream of settling in Africa and starting their own programs there. I told you I’m a weird one.

        Aside from organizing social programs, I also consult for start-up businesses (mostly handle their marketing and PR) and I write. It’s a lot of different things but I love it. 🙂 BTW, do you sing or mix the music like Zedd or Avicii or both?

        See you on twitter (and please please follow me back). 🙂

      • You seem like someone I would very much enjoy talking to. You are pretty diverse, I applaud you for that. When It comes to hip hop it depend which side of it you are introduced to. There are people who like commercial and those who are hard core RAP fans. I both and neither. I am a lyricist and love great writers but I do listen to popular music cause you can’t be serious all the time.

        I work with different producers to get different sounds and I try to mix sounds as best I can. I do tend to over reach though. I don’t know what you would think of my music but it would be interesting to get the opinion of someone with your musical taste. You promise to give me an honest opinion right?

      • Hey there. I been listening to American Authors. They are dope. I love ‘Trouble’ and ‘Home’ the most but the Oh What a Life album is quite dope. Thanks for introducing me to it.

      • passporttorainbows says:

        You are so welcome! I thought I was gonna have a heart attack when you told me you’re a musician in the other comment then I realized I just suggested a band you might not like. Good thing you like it.

        By the way, do you have twitter? 🙂

Leave a Reply

