song pick of the week: ONE by Ed Sheeran

Again…

I know. Again.

Please please understand that I’ve been really racking my brain thinking of another song I like more than One this week but there just isn’t one despite the fact the I downloaded probably 30 songs already. I’ve had it on replay since last Sunday afternoon and I’ve been listening to it everywhere. I even pissed my sister off when we went shopping this week as I was too engrossed with the song I didn’t notice she’s been going on for a few minutes (not very wise by the way).

I can’t really explain why I like it technically as I’ve already confessed I’m not a pro but I love the honesty of it. It reaches out to you and makes you feel one of two things: you wrote it or someone wrote it for you. My friend says it reminds him of a classic screw-up, find purpose and lives a better life for and with someone story. What do you guys think?

I know one thing’s for sure, Ed you are a bloody GENIUS!

ONE

by Ed Sheeran

Tell me that you turned down the man
Who asked for your hand
‘Cause you’re waiting for me
And I know, you’re gonna be away a while
But I’ve got no plans at all to leave

And would you take away my hopes and dreams and just stay with me?

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
[Regular version:] Just promise me, you’ll never leave again
[Acoustic version:] Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

Take my hand and my
Heart and soul, I will
Only have these eyes for you
And you know, everything changes but
We’ll be strangers if we see this through
You could stay within these walls and bleed
Or just stay with me
Oh lord, now

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

I’m stumbling off drunk, getting myself lost
I am so gone, so tell me the way home
I listen to sad songs, singing about love
And where it goes wrong

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

***

By the way, massive news to all Ed Sheeran fans out there. His new album is now officially out it the UK! Go and get a copy guys, his songs are always worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

