movie suggestions of the month

Heya.

This post is for those who enjoy a good old film just like me and would like to know which new ones to come see next. I’m gonna go over suggestions for movies that piqued my interest as much as I can because I know when a movie marathon ensues, it cannot be stopped.

Here goes.

1. The Normal Heart

So if you’ve been online often or watch a lot of TV, you’ve probably heard of this movie. It’s produced by Brad Pitt, starring Mark Ruffalo, Matt Bomer and Julia Roberts. (Not a bad looking cast, I know. I mean who doesn’t?) The movie explores the beginning of AIDS in the 1980s, the plight of the gay community to fight for their health, survival and rights, and the sociopolitical landscape the characters struggle to be heard in . It will push you to see the stark contrast and the obvious similarities of their stories from and to the present day.

2. The Maze Runner

This is the movie adaptation of the James Dashner’s world famous dystopian series which I talked about a few entries back. Here’s the link: https://byunanonymous.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/the-maze-runner-trilogy/. It’s one of my absolute favorite series and that says a lot because I hold dystopian novels to such a high regard. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, well everything else that can be crossed, that this becomes a success because it will be just frustrating to have a lackluster movie version of such a great book.

Another plus, especially to all Teen Wolf fans, Dylan O’brien is playing the lead role, Thomas. -winks-

3. Kill Your Darlings

The movie is based off a widely controversial murder in 1944 that threads together the life of three well known writers: Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac and William Burroughs.  More than the crime is a story of choices and the consequences that come with it, where structure and form in life and literature isn’t as easy as black and white nor is it pretty as metered poetry.

If you’re a Potterhead and continuously support the amazing roles Daniel Radcliffe continues to play then this is definitely for you. I would say it’s one of his best portrayals to date. The film features the mysterious hottie, Dane Dehaan who is also know for his role in the Amazing Spiderman.

4. If I Stay

This teen romance movie is actually a recommendation from a twitter friend and it’s coming to theaters this 22nd of August. To most of you who know me, you already figured out that I really am not into the cheesy romcoms although I have my moments but trust me the plot of this one is actually pretty interesting. It follows the life of a sheltered girl, played by Chloe Moretz, who meets ‘THE GUY’ but unfortunately suffers a massive accident that forces her to a state of coma. While there, she finds reasons that will lead ultimately to her choice- to stay or go.

That’s it for now my lovelies and I will keep you posted for any more cool trailers and movie recos I chance up on. Oh and by the way, some movies in my reco list are out and available while the others, you have to wait a bit longer.

 

Leave a Reply

