song pick of the week: Shake It Off by Taylor Swift

Okay before people start stoning me to death demanding I retract this let me first say that this in an achievement since this is the first song pick I made that isn’t by Ed or another band because I was honestly contemplating picking Tenerife Sea- a great song btw but I thought a change in genre will be fun. Let me clarify as well, I actually LOVE Taylor’s songs. It may not be as obvious because I clearly have a more alternative/ rock/ indie taste in music but honestly this girl can write one hell of song- she’s got 5 albums to prove it.

Most people think that she only writes bitter tribute songs that curse her exes to the depths of Tartarus, mostly because of the over-romanticized narratives she gets from the media but really she has other songs which are on a whole different plane- songs like The Lucky One, Brought Up That Way and Mean. Plus you gotta admit, her break up songs can be good metaphors for coping in life if you let it.

A few hours ago she just released a music video for her upcoming album, to be released this October 27, called 1989 after her birth year.

Taylor announced that her new album is called 1989 — after her birth year — and will be out Oct. 27.

photo from Big Machine

 

I’m gonna let the song speak for its self because I do think the message is loud and clear so without much ranting here’s Shake It Off by Taylor Swift.

 

Shake It Off

by Taylor Swift

I stay up too late
Got nothing in my brain
That’s what people say
That’s what people say
I go on too many dates
But I can’t make them stay
At least that’s what people say
That’s what people say
But I keep cruising
Can’t stop, won’t stop moving
It’s like I got this music
In my mind, saying it’s gonna be alright
Cause the players gonna play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off
Heart break is gonna break, break, break
And I think it’s gonna fake, fake, fake
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off, Shake it off

I never miss a beat
I’m lighting up my feet
And that’s what they don’t see
That’s what they don’t see
I’m dancing on my own
I make the moves as I go
And that’s what they don’t know
That’s what they don’t know
But I keep cruising
Can’t stop, won’t stop moving
It’s like I got this music
In my mind, saying it’s gonna be alright
Cause the players gonna play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off
Heart break is gonna break, break, break
And I think it’s gonna fake, fake, fake
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off, Shake it off

Hey, hey, hey
Just think while you been getting down and out about the liars
And the dirty dirty cheats of the world
You could have been getting down to this sick beat

Let’s end this entry with her words  during the live stream on Yahoo this morning. 

“Life itself and who people actually are can be greatly reflected in how they dance,” Taylor told the audience.

“I’m not talking about how good you are, I mean your willingness to dance.”

Taylor Swift Reveals Her New Song, Music Video, AND New Album Title

gif from ABC/Yahoo

Leave a Reply

